Finished works and new yarn for new projects

Painted in WaterlogueIts time for a quick round up of knitting and crochet projects and to tell you about another yarn store that is well worth a visit.

I finished the Rose Garden crochet blanket in early spring with the idea I would take photos of it in a rose garden since that was my original inspiration.  We haven’t got to any rose gardens yet – partly due to weather woes and partly just busy-ness.  Never mind, the photos are here, including my attempt at art using the Waterlogue App; cheating but fun.  I love the blanket; as well as the finished look of the garden colours I enjoyed the crochet process and joining the granny squares as you go is just the best; no sewing up to finish is bliss.

 

P1020183

Rose Garden blanket

The fox socks are done, and now I want a pair of my own.

Fox socks

Fox socks

My latest sock project on the SockwithSarah KAL was a challenge; a deliberate challenge.  Sarah offered a lucky prize draw for participants who tried something new.  I entered with my mission to try knitting Toe-up socks for the first time, using a pattern called “Straight Up Socks” by Kelie Oreb, which involved a tricky manoeuvre called Judy’s Magic Cast On; and look – it worked.

Not only did the instructions work, but I won a skein of yarn in the prize draw!  The yarn I chose from Miss Elle Knits has just arrived and it is even more gorgeous than I had expected; a striped hand dyed skein that’s a lively radiant blue with black/dark charcoal.  More stunning socks coming.

My yarn prize - from Miss Elle Knits

My yarn prize – from Miss Elle Knits

Right now though, my “main project” is a jersey for my son to be ready for his first Northern hemisphere winter.  He’s requested a snow-scene; trendy and hipster these days.  This is on the needles:

Snowflakes, reindeer & pine tree.

Snowflakes, reindeer & pine tree.

The yarn comes from Café Tricot Studio, 2 rue August Barbier in the 11th arrondissement.  I first went to this boutique with my friend Barbara when we were stepping out a new route for one of her StitchingupParis tours.  I had remembered seeing quite a range of good quality merino yarn in solid colours so when I was looking for a deep forest green for Sam’s jersey I checked out their on line store and found a few suitable options.  Dark green is not easy to come by, so a good start.

I visited for the confirm/deny mission and happily it was soon mission accomplished; the yarn colour was just right.  The yarns are mostly Italian brands; 100% merino in solid colours in a range of yarn weights that are lovely for knitting garments.  They also stock natural colour yarns, tweedy ones, mohair and gorgeous quality cotton yarns in every hue and offer classes and individual help.  The people there are charming; (I’ve met Veronique and Elisabeth), this store matches the experience I wrote about in my last post on politeness in Paris.  Definitely lovely to visit and to shop there.

Now it’s on with the knitting, and some more writing.  I’ve got another away-from-Paris weekend to tell you about.  A bientot.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Finished works and new yarn for new projects

  1. *Wisher* says:

    loving the granny squares blanket.. you have been busy.. 😀 congrats to so many knitting work done. 😉

  2. kiwiyarns says:

    Love, love, love your socks and blanket! You are a very accomplished needlewoman.

  3. Keiry, you are admirable! I just can’t wait to hear you are beginning a pair of gloves.

  4. Verónica says:

    Love those fox socks!!

Leave a comment