Celebrating knitting and needlework

L’ aiguille en fête (www.aiguille-en-fete.com ) is the name of a knitting and needlework expo I went to last week at the Porte de Versailles convention centre.  It was magnificent, brilliant (literally a spectacle of colour) and every other superlative you can think of, so no surprise that there were about a zillion other keen craftswomen there – and a few men.

Very busy, popular stand; Celine en Laine, from Canada

Very busy, popular stand; Celine en Laine, from Canada. I succumbed to temptation of yarn here.  www.celineenlaine.blogspot.com

As is not uncommon with popular Expo events the space versus crowd equation resulted in scenes much like a mosh-pit at a rock concert in some areas; but that was the only downside, I had a wonderful day and came away inspired with more new projects on the grand list of Things to Knit.  I do admit that I did buy a little more wool for said projects. 

There were over 200 exhibitors covering all varieties of craftwork that is done with some sort of needle; knitting, sewing, lace making, patchwork, quilting, felt making, embroidery and hardanger and stalls selling books on every imaginable aspect of craftwork.  As well there were some special exhibition spaces where I met a fabric artist – Diana Brennan – and saw some of her amazing work.  I am going to write separately about that in my next update because it’s a whole story on its own.

My focus was on the knitting, although I was tempted by the buttons and ribbons as well, spending some time planning strategically (ie dreaming up ideas) as to how I might use them on the project list.  Best of all I made contact with the lovely people from L’ Oisive Thé; a little knitting shop and tea salon in the 13th arondissement.  They hold knitting soirees at the salon de thé on Monday and Wednesday evenings so I am booked to go this week.  I will also be tracking down the button and ribbon shop and the Elle Tricote shop.

Here are some photos and website addresses of my best finds from the day.

The friendly team from L' Oisive The

The team from L’ Oisive The www.loisivethe.com

 

I love this exquisite scarf - its on my project list.

I love this exquisite scarf from Elle Tricote – it’s almost certainly on my project list. www.elletricote.com

Lots of admirers for the coloured, fine knit scarves at Elle Tricote

Lots of admirers for the coloured, fine knit scarves at Elle Tricote

Buttons from moline Mercerie

Gorgeous buttons from moline Mercerie www.moline-mercerie.com

 

Ribbons from moline Mercerie

Ribbons from moline Mercerie www.moline-mercerie.com

Hand made felt cakes by Japanese artist Rio Fukuda

Hand made felt cakes by Japanese artist Rio Fukuda

2 thoughts on “Celebrating knitting and needlework

  1. Katherine says:

    I think Monica would have loved to purchase some of the ribbons for the Ribbon Drawer… haha

  2. […] are both wonderful; each is slightly different.  While AeF  is dedicated to the textile, needle and thread arts in the widest sense, the CSF includes creative cuisine; from cake decoration to artful sushi […]

Leave a Reply

