Haircuts and random topics of conversation

Getting my hair cut causes me some angst even when I am on home territory.  Here, there’s even more to give me the heebie-jeebies; not only explaining what I want, and hoping it will happen, but coping with the expectation of some general conversation – en français of course.

I’ve recently found a hair salon (Àlapointe) that I like on rue Lamarck in the 18th.  I’ve nailed the right language and process for booking a rendezvous and today, for my second visit, I sailed through the routine questions like “is the water the right temperature for you?”  I show a picture to help explain the style of cut I want and I’m reasonably competent with conversation about the weather, explaining where I’m from and how long I’ve been living in Paris.  Tick. Tick. Tick.

That only leaves the dreaded Random Topic of Conversation.  What will it be, will I understand, or will I plummet into the black hole of incomprehension?

Settled in the chair, the scissors snipping near my ears, the hairdresser asks me something about “genne com pee yon”.  Ahhh what?  Clearly I look puzzled because he repeats it – it still sounds like “genne com pee yon.”  I’m at a disadvantage.  Without my glasses on I can’t see his face to observe the way the sounds are formed, I need all those visual clues to hear the word and understand.  I turn in the seat and peer at him – the scissors stop – and he says again “genne com pee yon”.

“OH! Jane Campion (imagine my best New Zild twang there); oui, oui, oui, elle est néo zélandaise bien sûr, elle est Présidente de la jury du Festival de Cannes cette année” I witter.  I ask en français if he’s seen Top of the Lake; he has, just the first 2 episodes so far.  We agree she’s very talented.

This guy must be a film buff; he mentions Avatar and James Cameron, Peter Jackson, the Lord of the Rings trilogy and Weta workshop.  I have enough vocab to respond in some way for each subject explaining that I come from Wellington where PJ and Weta are based.  I more or less managed to tell him about being at a cricket match at Westpac Stadium in Wellington some years ago when PJ asked the crowd to make marching sounds and battle chants for sound effects in the second movie of the Rings trilogy.  He got the gist and seemed amused and impressed – impressed with PJ, not my French I mean.

So I left the salon smiling for a few reasons.

  1. My haircut is very good (again), and the hair cut experience totally pleasant.
  2. Despite the faltering start I understood the random topic conversation points and even if my responses were less than perfect they were on the same topic at least.
  3. I felt rather proud, all over again, of NZ’s film industry fame.

Worth a coffee and scone with delicious strawberry and (I think) rhubarb jam at Soul Kitchen further up at number 33 rue Lamarck to celebrate another successful adventure in Random Conversation Topic territory.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Haircuts and random topics of conversation

  1. Bravo pour ce récit subtil et amusant!!

  2. Carmel says:

    Kiery …. Never thought about the whole hair thing …,what am I to do in hk ?? I take it they will not do blonde highlights let alone understand me …. Also , I have heard so much about top of the lake but cannot find it anywhere to watch it ! Did you enjoy it ??

    • keiryberry says:

      I’ve only managed to see 2 episodes that I think were in the middle of the series, and yes liked it. I’ve struggled to get to grips with TV series scheduling here.

    • kiwiyarns says:

      I’m going to be nosy and jump in here… Hong Kong is a truly international city, with local Chinese businesses sitting right alongside those tailored for the international clientele. I would advise that you do not go to local hair dressers. They will not know what to do with your western hair! I used to go to Private i http://www.ifc.com.hk/en/mall/detail.jsp?id=123 If Laurens still works there (funnily enough, he is French!) he is amazing. He cut my hair perfectly, and I still miss his hair cuts! And yes, they do blonde highlights. 🙂

  3. […] we have along the way with the light hearted challenges thrown in our path; troublesome toilettes, conversing with the hairdresser, navigating the Dordogne countryside and surviving the Paris Metro.  Nothing had been too serious […]

Leave a Reply

